Suggested (m)use: Torche

15 Jun
torche

image via Syndetics

Stoner metal or sludge metal?  This is the question one must ask when listening to Torche’s newest album, Restarter.  I don’t have enough background on this question to really offer an opinion, though, I will say, I am kind of taken with the innumerable appellations metal adopts for its different strains.  (Extreme, symphonic, speed, death, melodic death, doom, neoclassical …  Stoner?  Sludge?)  Again, I can’t really say which category this album falls under, but I can say I found Restarter pleasingly dynamic and aggressive with engaging cover art and … there’s a song about “minions”.   Give it a listen, you may find a whole new world beyond Despicable Me.

Suggested Use:  For those mornings when you need a recuperative blast of speaker burn for your drive to work, try Restarter … a metal album, not a hair product, with a more than apt name.

Leave a comment